«MitrendS»

The tablet app for Multiple Sclerosis patients

«MitrendS»

MitrendS is a novel app that allows MS patients to easily document their illness from home and discuss it with their caregiver.

 

The app helps to diagnose disease progression more accurately, for more effective treatments.
Multiple sclerosis does have different effects in different patients. It is therefore very important to record the individually different symptoms of the disease and their course as accurately as possible for each individual patient, so that personalized therapies can be implemented. In today’s clinical practice, this is only possible to a limited extent or not at all. The MIDATA MitrendS project is a pioneer project of personalized medicine in the field of multiple sclerosis.

MitrendS allows the user to continuously test MS-relevant parameters such as perception, motor function of the hand and arm, gait, fatigue and mood. In MS, the course of the disease also depends strongly on external influences. This is why MitrendS can also record lifestyle factors and weather data.

 

All data collected with MitrendS are securely stored in MIDATA.
The new data collected with MitrendS are merged with existing patient data (from data silos of the university hospital; e.g. medical history, medication, data from imaging procedures, blood analyses, etc.). All data are transferred to MIDATA and stored securely. From the collected anonymous data of all users, the optimal and individually coordinated therapy approaches for each individual user can then be calculated using self-learning analysis programs (machine learning) developed by ETH researchers. These are then implemented by MS specialists at the University Hospital in Zurich.

Participation

Coordination

Prof. Dr. Ernst Hafen
ETH Zürich, Institut für Molekulare Systembiologie
Website

Stefano Napolitano
MIDATA

Multiple Sclerosis

Prof. Dr. med. Roland Martin und Prof. Dr. med. Andreas Lutterotti
UniversitätsSpital Zürich, Klinik für Neurologie
Website

MitrendS app

Prof. Serge Bignens and Dr. François von Kaenel
Berner Fachhochschule (BFH), Institut für Medizinische Informatik
Website

Data analysis

Prof. Dr. Gunnar Rätsch
ETH Zürich, Biomedizinische Informatik
Website

Ethics

Prof. Dr. Effy Vayena
ETH Zürich, Institut für Translationelle Medizin, Bioethik
Website

Supported by

Personalized Health and Related Technologies (PHTR), Website
Swiss Data Science Center (SDSC), Website
 

Further information

Schweizerische Multiple Sklerose Gesellschaft (SMSG)
Neurologie USZ
 

Video of the university of Zurich about the MS study

Projektpartner

The Bern University of Applied Sciences (BFH) offers an innovative didactic approach aimed at teaching, R&D and continuous training, using practical exercises to prepare students for professional activities in which scientific knowledge and methods are required.
Freedom and individual responsibility, entrepreneurial spirit and open-mindedness: ETH Zurich stands on a bedrock of true Swiss values. Our university for science and technology dates back to the year 1855, when the founders of modern-day Switzerland created it as a centre of innovation and knowledge.
At ETH Zurich, students discover an ideal environment for independent thinking, researchers a climate which inspires top performance. Situated in the heart of Europe, yet forging connections all over the world, ETH Zurich is pioneering effective solutions to the global challenges of today and tomorrow.

MoreLess

The MIDATA data platform enables members of the public to compile their health records in a secure personal account free of charge and to determine if and how they are used in research projects. In this way, they can act as «citizen scientists», making an active contribution to medical research.
MIDATA serves as a data repository for its members and other participating members of the public. It is a non-profit cooperative facility that operates without offering financial incentives, similarly to blood donation services, for instance. The account holders are not paid for their intentional and voluntary «data donation». The revenue generated from the integration of their data into a scientific study is reinvested in the services offered on the platform and in a variety of smaller research projects. Start-ups, IT service providers and research groups can use the platform to offer mobile apps, such as health apps or apps for treating and monitoring patients with chronic illnesses. MIDATA is currently being used in a number of scientific health projects. In one particular project being conducted at University Hospital Zurich, for example, multiple sclerosis patients are being included in a study into the effect of treatments, which uses a tablet app to test their cognitive and motor skills. A further project, currently in development at ETH Zurich, will look at different training methods and the impact they have on muscle growth. More and more projects are being run that are directed at a wide section of the population and are of value to many – as is the case with the «Ally Science» project.

MoreLess

From its central location in Zurich, the USZ university hospital provides primary health care and cutting-edge medicine. Its services are available to everyone, every day of the year, 24 hours a day.

«MitrendS»

Die Tablet App für Multiple-Sklerose-Patienten

«MitrendS»

MitrendS ist eine neuartige App mit der MS Patienten ihre Krankheit ganz einfach von zu Hause aus dokumentieren und mit der Betreuungsperson besprechen können.

 

Menschen mit Multipler Sklerose sollen besser diagnostiziert und dadurch effektiver behandelt werden können.
Multiple Sklerose wirkt sich in verschiedenen Patienten nicht gleich aus. Daher ist es äusserst wichtig, die individuell verschiedene Symptomatik der Krankheit und ihres Verlaufs für jeden einzelnen Patienten möglichst genau zu erfassen damit personalisierte Therapien umgesetzt werden können. Dies ist in der heutigen klinischen Praxis nur bedingt oder gar nicht möglich. Das MIDATA MitrendS Projekt ist ein Wegbereiter der personalisierten Medizin im Bereich der Multiplen Sklerose.

MitrendS erlaubt es dem Nutzer MS-relevante Parameter wie seine Wahrnehmung, die Motorik seiner Hand- und Armfunktion, Gang, sowie Müdigkeit und Gemütszustand kontinuierlich zu testen. Bei MS hängt der Krankheitsverlauf auch stark von äusseren Einflüssen ab. Deshalb kann MitrendS auch Lifestyle Faktoren und Wetterdaten erfassen.

 

Alle mit MitrendS gesammelten Daten werden in MIDATA sicher gespeichert.
Die mit MitrendS neu erfassten Daten werden mit bereits vorhandenen Patientendaten (aus Datensilos des UniversitätsSpitals; z.B. Krankengeschichte, Medikation, Daten aus Bild-gebenden Verfahren, Blutanalysen, usw.) zusammengeführt. Alle Daten werden in MIDATA übertragen und sicher gespeichert. Aus den gesammelten anonymisierten Daten aller Nutzer können dann mittels speziell von ETH Forschern entwickelter selbstlernender Analyseprogramme (Machine Learning) die für jeden einzelnen Nutzer optimalen und individuell-abgestimmten Therapieansätze errechnet werden. Diese werden schliesslich durch die besten MS Spezialisten am UniversitätsSpital in Zürich umgesetzt.

Mitwirkung

Koordination

Prof. Dr. Ernst Hafen
ETH Zürich, Institut für Molekulare Systembiologie
Website

Stefano Napolitano
MIDATA

Multiple Sklerose

Prof. Dr. med. Roland Martin und Prof. Dr. med. Andreas Lutterotti
UniversitätsSpital Zürich, Klinik für Neurologie
Website

MitrendS App

Prof. Serge Bignens und Dr. François von Kaenel
Berner Fachhochschule (BFH), Institut für Medizinische Informatik
Website

Datenanalyse

Prof. Dr. Gunnar Rätsch
ETH Zürich, Biomedizinische Informatik
Website

Ethik

Prof. Dr. Effy Vayena
ETH Zürich, Institut für Translationelle Medizin, Bioethik
Website

mit unterstützung von

Personalized Health and Related Technologies (PHTR), Website
Swiss Data Science Center (SDSC), Website
 

Weitere Informationen

Schweizerische Multiple Sklerose Gesellschaft (SMSG)
Neurologie USZ
 

Video der Universität Zürich zur MS-Studie

Projektpartner

Die Berner Fachhochschule BFH ist eine anwendungsorientierte Hochschule mit einem innovativen und praxisnahen Angebot in Lehre, Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Weiterbildung. Sie bereitet Studierende auf berufliche Tätigkeiten vor, in denen wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse und Methoden umgesetzt werden.
Freiheit und Eigenverantwortung, Unternehmergeist und Weltoffenheit: Die Werte der Schweiz sind das Fundament der ETH Zürich. Die Wurzeln unserer technisch- naturwissenschaftlichen Hochschule reichen zurück ins Jahr 1855, als die Gründer der modernen Schweiz diesen Ort der Innovation und des Wissens geschaffen haben.
Studierende finden an der ETH Zürich ein Umfeld, das eigenständiges Denken fördert, Forschende ein Klima, das zu Spitzenleistungen inspiriert. Im Herzen Europas und weltweit vernetzt entwickelt die ETH Zürich Lösungen für die globalen Herausforderungen von heute und morgen.

MehrWeniger

Die MIDATA-Datenplattform erlaubt es den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, ihre Gesundheitsdaten sicher und unentgeltlich auf einem persönlichen Konto zu sammeln und frei über deren Verwendung in Forschungsprojekten zu verfügen. Sie können damit als sogenannte «Citizen Scientists» eine aktive Rolle in der medizinischen Forschung spielen.
MIDATA wirkt als Treuhänderin der Daten ihrer Mitglieder resp. der teilnehmenden Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Sie ist eine gemeinnützige, genossenschaftlich organisierte Einrichtung, die – wie beispielsweise Blutspende-Dienste – ohne finanzielle Anreize funktioniert. Die Kontoinhaber werden für ihre bewusste und freiwillige «Daten-Spende» nicht entschädigt. Die Einnahmen, die durch die Integration von Daten in eine wissenschaftliche Studie entstehen, werden in die auf der Plattform angebotenen Dienste und in diverse kleinere Forschungsprojekte reinvestiert. Startups, IT-Dienstleister und Forschungsgruppen können auf der Plattform mobile Apps anbieten, beispielsweise Gesundheits-Apps oder Apps für die Behandlung und Kontrolle von Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten. MIDATA wird derzeit in mehreren wissenschaftlichen Gesundheitsprojekten genutzt. In ein einem Projekt am Universitätsspital Zürich sind beispielsweise an Multipler Sklerose leidende Patientinnen und Patienten involviert. Sie prüfen den Effekt von Behandlungen mittels einer Tablet-App, die ihre kognitiven und motorischen Fähigkeiten testet. Aktuell befindet sich ein Projekt der ETH Zürich im Aufbau, das sich mit Fragen zu verschiedenen Trainingsmethoden und dem jeweiligen Einfluss auf den Muskelaufbau befasst. Es werden zunehmend Projekte umgesetzt, die sich an einen breiten Bevölkerungskreis richteten und einen Mehrwert für viele bieten – genauso, wie das beim Projekt «Ally Science» der Fall ist.

MehrWeniger

Das USZ bietet an zentraler Lage in Zürich medizinische Grundversorgung und Spitzenmedizin: für alle Menschen, jeden Tag, rund um die Uhr.