«Cognitive World Atlas»

Track your cognitive abilities over time

Advancience – a University of Basel spin-off – develops game-based tools to measure psychological variables: how well we can concentrate, how well our memory functions and how fast are we able to process and react. These variables are measured by short basic cognitive parameters known to be indicators of mental wellbeing from years of research.

 

Advancience has created the «Cognitive World Atlas» platform that hosts psychological tools in the form of entertaining computer games. Advancience toolkit is set up to be an important resource for both psychological research as well as for diagnostics of mental disorders, since these cognitive skills are typically impaired in individuals suffering from psychiatric or neurological conditions. It is of enormous importance to be able to supplement subjective assessments in diagnostics with objective parameters – both for the early detection and treatment of diseases and for the development of drugs.

The advancience approach aims at improving diagnostics in mental health by making use of new technology to provide a scalable solution.
 

Fun & Info
You can play games and learn about psychology and about yourself.
 

Health & Well-being
We provide you with tools to monitor your mental fitness. For free.

You can use this to figure out how stress, emotions or keeping a healthy sleeping pattern affect your mental agility and skills.

You can learn at what time of the day you’re typically most attentive and concentrated.

You can activate your brain and stay sharp by exercising.
 

Become a Philanthropist
You can contribute to the development of better tools for diagnosing mental health problems – whether you are a patient or completely healthy.

Your contribution is the fuel that drives our innovative concept!

Help us helping others!
 

A copy of all collected data is uploaded to the participants’ personal data account on the MIDATA platform. This ensures that every participant has access to his/her personal data and that he/she can decide about further use. While you as a test user can train and measure your cognitive skills, you also make a very important contribution to the further development of the test instruments. In this way, you make a decisive contribution to improving the diagnosis and therapy of diseases of the central nervous system.
 

Participate

Video

Participation

Conception and Study Management, Advancience

Dr Christian Vogler
Founder, CEO, Chairperson BoD
christian.vogler@advancience.ch

Dr Leo Gschwind
Founder, CDO, BoD Member
leo.gschwind@advancience.ch

Data stewardship, MIDATA

Stefano Napolitano
stefano.napolitano@midata.coop

Alexander Kreutz
alexander.kreutz@midata.coop

Project partners

The MIDATA data platform enables members of the public to compile their health records in a secure personal account free of charge and to determine if and how they are used in research projects. In this way, they can act as «citizen scientists», making an active contribution to medical research.
MIDATA serves as a data repository for its members and other participating members of the public. It is a non-profit cooperative facility that operates without offering financial incentives, similarly to blood donation services, for instance. The account holders are not paid for their intentional and voluntary «data donation». The revenue generated from the integration of their data into a scientific study is reinvested in the services offered on the platform and in a variety of smaller research projects. Start-ups, IT service providers and research groups can use the platform to offer mobile apps, such as health apps or apps for treating and monitoring patients with chronic illnesses. MIDATA is currently being used in a number of scientific health projects. In one particular project being conducted at University Hospital Zurich, for example, multiple sclerosis patients are being included in a study into the effect of treatments, which uses a tablet app to test their cognitive and motor skills. A further project, currently in development at ETH Zurich, will look at different training methods and the impact they have on muscle growth. More and more projects are being run that are directed at a wide section of the population and are of value to many – as is the case with the «Ally Science» project.

MoreLess

Advancience supplies healthcare with the psychometric toolkit of the 21st century.
We translate psychological concepts in software solutions that allow quantifying mental skills and behaviour at an unprecedented resolution. We combine psychology, neuroscience, and informatics by making use of game-based assessment and advanced statistical analysis procedures.

MoreLess

«Cognitive World Atlas»

Tracken Sie Ihr psychisches Wohlbefinden!

Advancience, ein Spinoff der Universität Basel, entwickelt spielbasierte Tools um psychologische Faktoren zu messen: wie gut wir uns konzentrieren, wie gut unsere Erinnerung ist und wie schnell wir verarbeiten und reagieren. Diese Merkmale werden mit einfachen grundlegenden kognitiven Parametern gemessen, welche jahrelange Forschung als Indikatoren für gute mentale Gesundheit identifiziert hat.

 

Advancience hat die «Cognitive World Atlas» Plattform erstellt, eine Sammlung von psychologischen Tools in Form von unterhaltsamen Computerspielen. Diese Sammlung soll eine wichtige Ressource sowohl für die psychologische Forschung als auch für die Diagnostik von psychischen Störungen sein. Die gemessenen kognitiven Fähigkeiten sind bei Personen, die an psychiatrischen oder neurologischen Erkrankungen leiden, typischerweise beeinträchtigt. Es ist von enormer Bedeutung, die subjektiven Einschätzungen in der Diagnostik durch objektive Parameter ergänzen zu können – sowohl für die Früherkennung und Behandlung von Krankheiten als auch für die Entwicklung von Medikamenten.

Der Ansatz von Advancience ist es, die Diagnostik im Bereich der mentalen Gesundheit mit neuen Technologien zu verbessern um eine skalierbare Lösung anzubieten.
 

Spass & Infos
Sie können Spiele spielen und etwas über Psychologie und über sich selbst lernen.
 

Gesundheit & Wohlbefinden
Wir stellen Ihnen Instrumente zur Verfügung, mit denen Sie Ihre geistige Fitness mitverfolgen können. Und zwar kostenlos. Damit können Sie herausfinden, wie sich Stress, Emotionen oder ein gesundes Schlafverhalten auf Ihre geistige Beweglichkeit und Fähigkeiten auswirken.

Sie können erfahren, zu welcher Tageszeit Sie normalerweise am aufmerksamsten und konzentriertesten sind.

Sie können Ihr Gehirn aktivieren und durch Übung aktiv bleiben.
 

Philanthropischer Ansatz
Sie können zur Entwicklung besserer Instrumente zur Diagnose psychischer Gesundheitsprobleme beitragen – unabhängig davon, ob Sie ein Patient oder völlig gesund sind.

Ihr Beitrag ist der Treibstoff, der unser innovatives Konzept antreibt! Helfen Sie uns, anderen zu helfen!
 

Eine Kopie aller gesammelten Daten wird auf das persönliche Datenkonto der Teilnehmer auf der MIDATA-Plattform hochgeladen. Damit ist sichergestellt, dass jede Nutzerin und jeder Nutzer Zugang zu ihren/seinen persönlichen Daten hat und über die weitere Verwendung entscheiden kann.
Während Sie das Tool nutzen und Ihre kognitiven Fähigkeiten trainieren und messen können, leisten Sie auch einen sehr wichtigen Beitrag zur Weiterentwicklung der Testinstrumente. Damit leisten Sie einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Verbesserung der Diagnose und Therapie von Erkrankungen des Zentralnervensystems.
 

Mitmachen

Video

Mitwirkung

Konzeption und Studienleitung, Advancience

Dr Christian Vogler
Gründer, CEO, Vorsitzender BoD
christian.vogler@advancience.ch

Dr Leo Gschwind
Gründer, CDO, BoD Mitglied
leo.gschwind@advancience.ch

Datentreuhand, MIDATA

Stefano Napolitano
stefano.napolitano@midata.coop

Alexander Kreutz
alexander.kreutz@midata.coop

Projektpartner

Die MIDATA-Datenplattform erlaubt es den Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, ihre Gesundheitsdaten sicher und unentgeltlich auf einem persönlichen Konto zu sammeln und frei über deren Verwendung in Forschungsprojekten zu verfügen. Sie können damit als sogenannte «Citizen Scientists» eine aktive Rolle in der medizinischen Forschung spielen.
MIDATA wirkt als Treuhänderin der Daten ihrer Mitglieder resp. der teilnehmenden Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Sie ist eine gemeinnützige, genossenschaftlich organisierte Einrichtung, die – wie beispielsweise Blutspende-Dienste – ohne finanzielle Anreize funktioniert. Die Kontoinhaber werden für ihre bewusste und freiwillige «Daten-Spende» nicht entschädigt. Die Einnahmen, die durch die Integration von Daten in eine wissenschaftliche Studie entstehen, werden in die auf der Plattform angebotenen Dienste und in diverse kleinere Forschungsprojekte reinvestiert. Startups, IT-Dienstleister und Forschungsgruppen können auf der Plattform mobile Apps anbieten, beispielsweise Gesundheits-Apps oder Apps für die Behandlung und Kontrolle von Patienten mit chronischen Krankheiten. MIDATA wird derzeit in mehreren wissenschaftlichen Gesundheitsprojekten genutzt. In ein einem Projekt am Universitätsspital Zürich sind beispielsweise an Multipler Sklerose leidende Patientinnen und Patienten involviert. Sie prüfen den Effekt von Behandlungen mittels einer Tablet-App, die ihre kognitiven und motorischen Fähigkeiten testet. Aktuell befindet sich ein Projekt der ETH Zürich im Aufbau, das sich mit Fragen zu verschiedenen Trainingsmethoden und dem jeweiligen Einfluss auf den Muskelaufbau befasst. Es werden zunehmend Projekte umgesetzt, die sich an einen breiten Bevölkerungskreis richteten und einen Mehrwert für viele bieten – genauso, wie das beim Projekt «Ally Science» der Fall ist.

MehrWeniger

Advancience liefert dem Gesundheitswesen das psychometrische Toolkit des 21. Jahrhunderts.
Wir übersetzen psychologische Konzepte in Softwarelösungen, mit welchen Quantifizierung mentaler Fähigkeiten und Verhaltensweisen in einer noch nie dagewesenen Auflösung möglich wird. Wir kombinieren Psychologie, Neurowissenschaften und Informatik, indem wir spielbasierte Bewertungs- und anspruchsvolle statistische Analyseverfahren einsetzen.

MehrWeniger